Blog Posts in Florida Discretionary Sales Tax

All Posts
  • 2019 Hillsborough County Commercial Rent Tax Rate: 8.2%
    2019 Hillsborough County Commercial Rent Tax Rate: 8.2%

    Florida is the only state in the country to subject commercial rent to sales tax. There has been a push at the state level to lower and eventually repeal this tax, with the state tax rate on ...

    Read More
  • Florida County Surtax Changes for 2019
    Florida County Surtax Changes for 2019

    Florida County Surtax Changes for 2019 In various Florida counties, tax increases were agreed upon and set to begin in 2019. There are nine counties in Florida that have increased their county surtax ...

    Read More
  • FL SALES TAX: $5,000 SURTAX CAP ON BULK SALES
    FL SALES TAX: $5,000 SURTAX CAP ON BULK SALES

    For retailers in Florida, keeping up with sales tax laws and exemptions can be a daunting task. Retailers are liable to the Department of Revenue for under collecting tax and retailers can be sued by ...

    Read More
  • Florida Sales Tax - Voluntary Disclosure Program
    Florida Sales Tax - Voluntary Disclosure Program

    The purpose of this article is to discuss one of the most beneficial areas of Florida sales tax law – The Florida Voluntary Disclosure Program. Florida’s sales tax laws are endlessly complicated. ...

    Read More
  • 2018 FL Discretionary Surtax Rates
    2018 FL Discretionary Surtax Rates

    Florida's state 6% sales tax rate is the starting point for businesses and consumers to determine the proper sales tax rate to charge for the sale of tangible personal property in Florida. A majority ...

    Read More
  • FL 2017 DISCRETIONARY SALES SURTAX RATES
    FL 2017 DISCRETIONARY SALES SURTAX RATES

    Florida's state 6% sales tax rate is the starting point for businesses and consumers to determine the proper sales tax rate to charge for the sale of tangible personal property in Florida. A majority ...

    Read More