Skip to Content
Call Us Today! 888-444-9568
212.133 150+ Years of Combined Experience on Your Side

Florida Sales Tax Statute


Information reports required for sales of alcoholic beverages and tobacco products.—

1.(a) For the sole purpose of enforcing the collection of the tax levied by this chapter on retail sales, the department shall require every seller of alcoholic beverages or tobacco products to file an information report of any sales of those products to any retailer in this state.

(b) As used in this section, the term:

  1. "Retailer" means a person engaged in the business of making sales at retail and who holds a license pursuant to chapters 561 through 565 or a permit pursuant to chapters 210 and 569.
  2. "Seller" means any manufacturer, wholesaler, or distributor of alcoholic beverages or tobacco products who sells to a retailer in this state.

2.(a) The information report must be filed electronically by using the department's e-filing website or secure file transfer protocol or electronic data interchange files with the department's e-filing provider. The information report must contain:

  1. The seller's name.
  2. The seller's beverage license or tobacco permit number.
  3. The retailer's name.
  4. The retailer's beverage license or tobacco permit number.
  5. The retailer's address, including street address, municipality, state, and five-digit zip code.
  6. The general item type, such as cigarettes, cigars, tobacco, beer, wine, spirits, or any combination of those items.
  7. The net monthly sales total, in dollars sold to each retailer.

(b) The department may annually waive the requirement to submit the information report through an electronic data interchange due to problems arising from the seller's computer capabilities, data system changes, or operating procedures. The annual request for a waiver must be in writing, and the seller must demonstrate that such circumstances exist. A waiver under this paragraph does not operate to relieve the seller from the obligation to file an information report.

3. The information report must contain the required information for the period from July 1 through June 30. The information report is due annually on July 1 for the preceding reporting period and is delinquent if not received by the department by September 30.

4. Any seller who fails to provide the information report by September 30 is subject to a penalty of $1,000 for every month, or part thereof, the report is not provided, up to a maximum amount of $10,000. This penalty must be settled or compromised if it is determined by the department that the noncompliance is due to reasonable cause and not to willful negligence, willful neglect, or fraud.

  • Florida DOR
  • ABA
  • FiCPA
  • The Florida Bar

Contact Us

Reach out for professional tax help

Located in Ft. Lauderdale, Tampa, and Tallahassee, we’re here for you.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy