Skip to Content
Call Us Today! 888-444-9568
Sales and Use Tax (Discretionary Sales Surtax) 150+ Years of Combined Experience on Your Side

Sales and Use Tax

Florida Sales Tax Audit Lawyer

Sales tax is added to purchases made by consumers of certain goods or services and is collected when a sale is made. Our state's sales tax rate is 6% and any rental, storage or use, retail sale, admission charge and certain other services are subject to sales tax unless specifically exempt.

The State of Florida also has a "use tax" which applies to the consumption of goods or services if, at the time of purchase, sales tax was not paid. There are many goods and services which are exempt and a seasoned Florida sales tax attorney from our firm can work with you to see how this tax may apply to your situation. For items which are not exempt, you will have to pay this tax if you bought something in Florida but did not pay sales tax on it. If, within 6 months of the purchase date, you bring or have delivered to Florida taxable merchandise and haven't paid sales tax on it, use tax will be owed. Use tax will also be due when you buy a tax-exempt good or service for the purpose of resale and then use it personally or in your business. So, for example, when some purchases items sales tax free on-line for personal or business use, then use taxes apply. While the Florida Department of Revenue gives little attention to purchases for personal use, the business use of goods purchased without sales tax being paid is a key focus for the Florida DOR and you should make sure to keep accurate records of all out of state purchases even when taxes are paid.

If you are just starting out or feel you may need proven assistance in the area of sales or use tax, the Law Offices of Moffa, Sutton, & Donnini, P.A. is ready to assist with our state tax planning and consulting services. If you have run into difficulties, such as your business is under a Florida tax audit, we work to take aggressive actions to resolve the situation on your behalf.

Discretionary Sales Surtax

In our state, many counties have a discretionary sales surtax which is charged on most of the goods or services for which sales or use tax applies. These rates commonly go from .25% to 2.5% and only apply to the first $5,000 of the sales price. There are exemptions, however, to this $5,000 limit which we can review with you in detail.

Tax mistakes can cause grave problems in a business or your personal affairs. Our firm has over 50 years in the practice of law and even more as CPAs. We concentrate our efforts on those who find themselves in tax trouble requiring energetic action to successfully resolve.

Contact a Florida sales tax audit lawyer for solutions to sales, use and discretionary sales surtax problems.

  • Florida DOR
  • ABA
  • FiCPA
  • The Florida Bar

Contact Us

Reach out for professional tax help

Located in Ft. Lauderdale, Tampa, and Tallahassee, we’re here for you.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy